City Council

The City of Grosse Pointe Farms is a council-manager form of government. This type of form of government means the Council sets policy while the City Manager, who is appointed by the City Council, implements the policies and is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the City.

There are six council members and one mayor. The council members serve staggered terms. Voters elect three council members and a mayor at each odd-year General Election. Candidates elected to city council serve a four-year term, and the mayor is elected for a two year term. The Mayor Pro Tem is elected by a vote of the City Council. The Mayor is elected by a city-wide election bi-annually.

City of Grosse Pointe Farms City Council

Louis Theros, Mayor

James C. Farquhar Jr., Mayor Pro Tem

Sierra Leone Donaven

Joe Ricci

    Peter Waldmeir

    John J. Gillooly

    Lev Wood